Academic Year 2023-24

Chaminade University publishes multiple years of the academic calendar so our community can plan ahead. Please note, dates are subject to change and will not be final until July 1 of the academic year.


Date

Event

MAY

Fri, May 5

Baccalaureate Ceremony

Sat, May 6

Commencement Ceremony

Mon, May 8

Summer Semester Session Full begins (2023S3)

Mon, May 15

Summer Semester Session I begins (2023S1)

Mon, May 22

Accelerated Summer Session Registration opens (2023SUM)

JUNE

Fri, Jun 9

Summer Semester Session Full deadline to Withdraw without Record (WNR).

Withdrawal requests must be submitted by 4:30 pm. (close of business) (2023S3).

Sun, Jun 11

Kamehameha Day holiday

Fri, Jun 23

Summer Semester Session I ends (2023S1)

JULY

Mon, July 3

Summer Semester Session II begins (2023S2)

Mon, July 3

Accelerated Summer Session begins (2023SUM)

Tue, Jul 4

4th of July Holiday observed for Semester DUG and Accelerated UG students (no classes; offices closed)

AUGUST

Fri, Aug 11

Summer Semester Session II ends (2023S2)

Fri, Aug 18

Summer Semester Session Full ends (2023S3)

Mon, Aug 21

Fall Semester begins (2023FA)

SEPTEMBER

Mon, Sep 4

Labor Day Holiday for Day Undergraduate and Accelerated Online Undergraduate (no classes; offices closed)

Mon, Sep 11

Accelerated Summer Session ends (2023SUM)

OCTOBER

Mon, Oct 2

Accelerated Fall Session begins (2023FAL)

Mon, Aug 21

Discoverer's Day holiday for Day Undergraduate and Accelerated Undergraduate students (no classes; offices closed)

NOVEMBER

Sat, Nov 11

Veteran's Day holiday (no DUG classes on campus; offices closed)

Thu, Nov 23-

Fri, Nov 24

Thanksgiving Day holiday (no evening classes; offices closed)

Thu, Nov 23

Thanksgiving Recess (no day undergraduate classes on campus; offices closed)

DECEMBER

Fri, Dec 8

Fall Semester ends (2023FA)

Mon, Dec 11

Accelerated Fall session ends (2023FAL)

JANUARY

Mon, Jan 8

Spring Semester begins (2024SP)

Mon, Jan 8

Accelerated Winter Session begins (2024WIN)

Mon, Jan 16

Fr. Chaminade/Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day for Day Undergraduate and Accelerated Undergraduates (no classes; offices closed)

FEBRUARY

Fri, Feb 9

Spring Semester deadline to Withdraw no Record (WNR). Withdrawal requests must be submitted by 4:30pm (close of business) (2024SP)

Mon, Feb 20

President's Day holiday for Day Undergraduate and Accelerated Undergraduates (no classes; offices closed)

MARCH

Mon, Mar 18

Accelerated Winter Session ends (2024WIN)

Tue, Mar 26

Prince Kuhio holiday (no classes; offices closed)

Thu, Mar 28

Holy Thursday- Liturgy of the Lord's Supper-no evening classes

Mon, Mar 25-

Fri, Mar 29

Spring Recess (no Day Undergraduate classes on campus; offices closed)

Fri, Mar 29

Good Friday-Liturgy of the Lord's Passion; no day classes

Sun, Mar31

Easter Vigil

APRIL

Mon, Apr 8

Accelerated Spring Session begins (2024SPR)

MAY

Fri, May 3

Spring Semester ends (2024SP)

Sat, May 4

Commencement Ceremony (2024SP)

Thu, May9

Spring Semester grades due at 12pm noon (2024SP)

Mon, May 15

Summer Semester Session I begins (2023S1)

Mon, May 27

Memorial Day Holiday for Day Undergraduate and Accelerated Undergraduate (no classes; offices closed)

JUNE

Tue, Jun 11

Kamehameha Day holiday observed (no day undergraduate classes on campus; offices closed)

Mon, Jun 17

Accelerated Spring Session ends (2024SPR)

JULY

Thu, July 4

4th of July holiday observed for Day Undergraduates and Accelerated Undergraduates (no classes; offices closed)

Mon, Jul 1

Accelerated Summer Session begins (2024SUM)

 

Revised 07/01/21


All degree programs at Chaminade University fall into two calendars for the academic year: semester and accelerated. The semester calendar consists of a Spring and a Fall term, each approximately 16 weeks in length as well as three summer sessions of shorting, varying lengths. The four Accelerated sessions begin in January, April, July and October.

Prior to each semester and accelerated session, a schedule of courses is published listing the instructor and time for courses offered. During regular semesters classes meet for 150 minutes each week. During accelerated sessions classes meet for 250 minutes each week. Some course offerings lend themselves to intensive study and may be scheduled within two, three or four week periods. All courses meet for an equivalent of 15 class hours per credit; studio art classes including environmental + interior design studios meet for 30 hours per credit; laboratory sections meet for 45 hours per credit.

Academic Year 2023-2024 - DRAFT

Final version of academic calendar will be published July 1, 2023.